top of page
  • Writer's pictureAIMEE JONES

INSPIRATIONAL WOMEN: BETH WILKINSON

Our next inspirational woman is Beth Wilkinson. Beth is one my oldest friends from primary school and we'd often spend our time together talking about our hopes and dreams and being completely unapologetic about our interests. For me, that was history, and for Beth, horses. Beth went on to work with and win many awards with horses and I went on to get my degree in History. That said, I don't think either of us sitting together as 10 year olds could have imagined our life trajectory. Beth has done incredibly well and overcome a number of obstacles to achieve a leading role in the Merchant Navy, which is no easy feat when you're one of few women in the first place. Beth has always been incredibly driven and strong and a wonderful role model for so many women and men. I am so happy to share her story and advice with you and to provide inspiration to many of us who need it! She truly is a powerful and wonderful woman.



What is your job title?


Officer of the Watch/Deck Officer


What is your proudest career moment?

Probably the first time on watch on my own and realizing all the hard work and effort was worth it. I have also had a few curve balls come my way but I remember thinking it's true what they say about one door closing and another opening.


What is the secret of success?

Good question. Be the best you can be and then try strive for a bit more. Also, never be afraid of asking questions no matter how small or silly they seem or feel.


When did you know you were successful?

I still don't realize it yet.

[Interviewer interjection: Beth already is successful so we are going to help her realize it...]


How do you think your background of work with horses has impacted your work ethic?

This job is a completely different style to that of the horse world. Yet, the unpredictability and highs and lows of horses and horse racing has helped me become adaptable and flexible and to have the ability to think ahead and try and read a situation well before it happens. Racing and working with horses is also hard work and taught me not to be work shy. You get out what you put in as a minimum.


What is the most rewarding part of your work/the most difficult part of your work?

The ability to work with and lead a team and to overcome a vast variety of unexpected situations, from medical evaluations to various emergencies or situations onboard. It's rewarding seeing a team work so well together -- especially if you are leading it.

Do you work with many females? If not, are there any obstacles to overcome working in a male-dominated field?

No. Females are still a minority in the Merchant Navy. On the last two vessels, I was the only female onboard. On the previous vessel there were just two of us. There are obstacles but all are manageable or I make them so.


How did you get into your chosen career?

Completely by chance. A conversation in the lifeboat station (where I volunteer), a visit to a college open day, and my cadet-ship secured literally was a life changer overnight. Like I say, anything is possible if you want it bad enough. Any advice for women interested in jobs like yours where it is perhaps hard to envision themselves fitting in?

Just because you are female doesn't mean you can't do something. There is always ways and means of doing something. Sometimes it just requires a bit of thinking outside the box. Never be afraid of speaking up or asking for help. It doesn't make you any less of a person. If in an uncomfortable situation, never be afraid of expressing where the line is. It's surprising how many actually respect you more for this.

What have you learned about yourself in the last 10 years? I have learned a lot about my character and capabilities. I used to be a fiery person who knew about horses and thought I was useless at everything else. I have had to put my mind to all sorts the last few years and, as I was willing to put in all the effort, the results I had surprised me. Now I am more confident when trying to learn or adapt to new things and have a new found patience that comes with the job.





58 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page