top of page

INSPIRATIONAL WOMEN: CHARLI OWEN

I first met Charli when I attended Ysgol Friars in Bangor. She was one of the sweetest people I'd ever had the pleasure of knowing and had a flair for the creative like few I'd ever met. I remember witnessing her in art classes and thinking, "Wow! I wish I had her talent." It's therefore been unsurprising to me to see Charli venture into her own business which focuses on immense creativity and artistic talents. I am so incredibly proud of her. The one downside to all this success is that I am living across the pond and don't get to taste the amazing creations she makes. I am hopeful that one day I will be back home and can end up bankrupt through being her customer... or maybe we can encourage her to sell over here in the States? Can we also start a petition for her to go on the Great British Bake-off because I know I think about her every time I watch! Charli is beautiful inside and out and I am so happy to share her words with you, as well as her immense talents, which you can view in her social media links at the bottom of this post.



























What is your job title?


I’m a Cake designer and Decorator based in Bangor, North Wales specializing in custom cakes for all occasions


What made you decide to start your own business?


I started my own business after working at a bakery and chocolate shop - I was making the celebration cakes and some of the chocolates there but decided after a year of working there to leave and start my own cake business. My twin sister also inspired me to start my own business after watching her grow her own successful beauty business.


What was the most difficult part of starting your own business?


I’d say the most difficult part of starting my own business was probably trying to build up my customer base and getting myself know in the area.


When did you feel most successful?


I felt most successful when I had to start informing people to book their cakes several months in advance due to high demand and also when I started getting loyal returning customers - It’s so lovely to have the same people coming back to me for my cakes.


How did you learn your amazing skill?


I started hobby baking and then took night classes to learn how to make sugar flowers but all my other cake decorating skills I’ve pretty much taught myself along the way.


Advice for people thinking of starting their own business?


My advice would be that it is great to have goals in business but be open minded along the way, as some of your achievements and success can actually come from unplanned and unexpected situations and they can sometimes be the crucial aspects that ultimately help you achieve your goals.


What does success mean to you?


Success to me is being able to make a living from a passion of mine and being happy in what I’m doing.



How can we better support small local businesses?


We could better help small local business by shopping locally more, leaving positive reviews and promoting each other and recommending each other on social media more


Please check out Charli's incredible work on social media:



45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page