top of page
  • Writer's pictureAIMEE JONES

INSPIRATIONAL WOMEN: ELIZABETH SANDERS

Elizabeth, or Lizzo as I call her, holds one of the highest places in my heart. She was one of the first people I met when I moved to Tennessee alone and she immediately took me into her home and into her heart and, for that, I am forever grateful. Elizabeth is one of those people that makes you want to be a better person just by being in her presence. She has this incredible air of goodness about her and she challenges you to rethink the areas of your life where you've grown complacent. She is a keen supporter of other women and an incredible role model. In short, she is one of the very best people you will ever have the pleasure of meeting; an angel in human form. When I took my fashion students on a travel study to Nashville, I had to have them meet her as she is one of the most inspiring people in the world. I am so honored and excited to share her wealth of wisdom.





















What is your job title?


Davidson County County Director and Family & Consumer Sciences Extension Agent.

What is your proudest career moment?


Wow that is a hard question! There have been many things in my career that I can say I am proud of, but one of the first things that comes to mind is having the opportunity to go to the United Nations Committee on World Food Security conference in Rome, Italy. During the conference I got to speak during a plenary session, the equivalent to speaking on a congressional floor, to express the importance of youth being involved in agriculture around the world. That moment reminded me that every moment and effort counts regardless if it is recognized immediately or not. It took immense work over several years to bring the topic of youth in agriculture to the global stage, and it was an honor to be a part of the continued efforts.

Tell us about being a Black woman in America right now. How can we better support our POC sisters in workplaces, universities, and in society?


First, thank you for this question! The honest truth is that the reality of being a black woman in America has not changed. We still make less money than our white counterparts. We will likely still encounter those who do not believe we are or should be in positions of power and yet we will continue to be a driving force for our economy. If you want to support POC in the workplace and specifically women, support them when no one is looking. Support them by taking time out of your schedule to mentor or encourage that woman of color. Support them by standing up for them when negative things are being said about them for being a strategic and assertive leader. Lastly, don't be afraid to address racism and sexism in whatever form it presents itself.

What is the most rewarding part of your job?


The most rewarding part of my job is knowing that I get to empower individuals young and old with knowledge and skills make their lives better than it was before. It is also rewarding to work with so many talented and dedicated individuals who are passionate about educating youth and adults within my community.

What is the most difficult part?


Working with the understanding that you will not always see the fruits of your labor, and remaining consistent when the societal climate and clientele are ever changing.

When did you feel most successful?


I feel most successful when I or a member of my team are able to positively impact someone's life. When we receive feedback that they used a new skill they learned, when they were able to purchase their first home or preserve produce from their first garden it reminds us that the time and effort we invest is worth it.

What is success to you?


Success is knowing you have put forth your best effort to achieve a goal you have set. I do not believe success is defined by the end result of your efforts, but what you gain along the journey to support you in future endeavors.

What have you learned about yourself in the last five years?


I have learned that I am stronger, smarter, and more resilient than I had believed. I have come to understand the value of consistent hard work is far more valuable than a temporary "win".

As a female leader, what can women do to better prepare for leadership roles?


Don't be afraid to stand up for yourself. You do not have to accept the worst from others, and if someone gives you their worst, that's a reflection of them, not you. Be committed to yourself and your personal growth and don't be afraid to fail. Give others a helping hand; no organization was worse off by having a communal giving mentality.

What is the one piece of advice you would share with young women entering the workforce today?


Work hard, be kind, and don't be afraid to face challenges. Complacency begins with comfort, so don't be afraid to be uncomfortable.


Find Elizabeth on The Chosen Girl podcast every Tuesday! https://thechosengirl.com/pages/chosen-girl-podcast

177 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page