top of page
  • Writer's pictureAIMEE JONES

INSPIRATIONAL WOMEN: RACHEL WASHBURN

I first met Rachel in 2016 through a mutual friend and one of the first things I noticed was how strong and intelligent she was. Strength of character is sometimes seen as a negative trait in women but I saw it as anything but. Rachel immediately gave me the impression that she was a woman who would go after what she wanted and a woman that would inevitably be very successful in her chosen field. After conducting this interview, I realized that my assumption was absolutely right. She is incredible!


Rachel is a woman who gives her all in order to give back. She has worked incredibly hard against difficult circumstances this year to set her life on a path to inspire and positively impact others. We haven't heard the last of her and I am so excited to share her wisdom and guidance with you!





















What does success mean to you?


Frankly, in this COVID-19 ruled world, this is a difficult question to answer. Before, success to me meant numbers, titles, and affirmations. Now, I think success revolves around things like adaptability and kindness. The world, job market, economy, history, and society have all been changed in the last few months. I think the definition of success must change too.


What was the most difficult aspect of getting a law degree?


Mental health. Imposter syndrome, depression, anxiety, and stress are all things that law students deal with daily. It was difficult to feel good enough, even with affirmations and support. We are taught, everyday, that grades or progress reports or numbers define us; at some point, we have to distance ourselves from this idea. In my opinion, this distancing process is one of the hardest obstacles to overcome in a competitive setting like law school.


When is the moment you felt most successful?


One of the proudest moments of my law school career was when I earned the CALI award for Trial Advocacy. I felt elated that I received the highest grade for a class that required me to use every shred of knowledge and skill I had learned. Further, my classmates were exceptional. Every time I was forced to compete against any of them, I was literally shaking. It felt surreal to walk away with the highest grade--even if only marginally!


What drove you to consider law as a career? What are your goals moving forward?


I wanted to help people while also empowering myself. For me, it's never really been about money. I will never be the most "successful" or lucrative attorney in the world, and I'm okay with that. I've achieved something that my parents are proud of, something that I'm proud of. I wanted to be able to help people in a career that was unconventional for women and i think I've more than achieved that. Moving forward, my goals are the same as they were when I started. I want to offer people the best service I can, while also empowering myself and other women to step outside the box and be a little unconventional.


How can women contribute to the field of law and is there enough female representation?


I follow the same mindset as Ruth Bader Ginsburg. Someone once asked her in an interview when she would feel that there are enough women on the Supreme Court, she replied, "when there are nine." So, do I think there is enough female representation? The short answer to that question is, absolutely not. The law, while growing and changing everyday, is still very much a good 'ole boys club, especially in the South. I don't really think women are purposefully excluded or talked down to, but it still happens. I think the best contribution women can make is to put themselves and their ideas out there. It's important that we show the world that femininity and success aren't two different worlds.


What advice do you have for other young women wanting to pursue law?


Never be afraid to be yourself. In such a competitive field, it's easy to lose yourself or let yourself be changed. It's not going to be easy, but don't let anyone take away or make you feel bad for the things that make up your personality.


What did you do to motivate yourself on the hard days?


I was fortunate enough to receive a full scholarship. Without that help, I doubt I would have been able to attend law school at all. I worked tirelessly to obtain my degree. Every class was different, some were easier than others. I obtained A's and I obtained D's. I was told once, by someone involved in administration, that I, "wasn't what [the school] paid for." It was hard to hear something like that. I had never felt more like a disappointment in my life. I realized quickly, however, that it doesn't matter if I was or not. I have so many other things that make me who I am. I also realized, it doesn't really matter if somebody likes me, they aren't capable of defining my worth. I adored Daenerys Targaryen in the HBO Game of Thrones series. There's this line she says in one of the last seasons that really stuck with me. She says, "Do you know what kept me standing, through all those years in exile? Faith. Not in any God, not in myths and legends. In myself." I think it's a hauntingly powerful quote. So, I try to have faith in myself. I have been through so much in my life that one bad experience is unable to define me.


What is your job title? What is your favorite part of your job now?


Currently, I'm still considered a full-time student. The bar exam is a qualifying exam that all law school graduates must pass before being able to practice law. It is a test comprised of essentially everything we learned in law school. Typically, the bar exam is administered in July and February. I was registered to take the exam in July, but twenty-six days before the exam, the Supreme Court of Tennessee canceled the exam in favor of an online exam to be administered in October. The Court had a terribly difficult decision before them, but it leaves us graduates in a tough spot. We are unable to practice as attorneys until we take this exam. Job offers are being rescinded, and the market itself is sinking. So, for now, my job is to study and ensure I pass the test the first time! My favorite part of my job is the ability to meet and help others. I hope to obtain my license soon so that I may assist those impacted by COVID-19 and the other disasters of life.

22 views0 comments

Comentarii


bottom of page